Favorites ()
image of St. Thomas arches

External Advisory Board

The School of Engineering External Advisory Board

The External Advisory Board (EAB) provides a direct link among students, faculty and external constituents of the School of Engineering. The Board meets formally three times per year, with each meeting focusing on a major topic: curriculum, student input and review of senior design projects. The Board also includes task groups on specific topics when appropriate.

image of St. Thomas arches

Goals of the External Advisory Board

The Board's objectives include providing critique of the engineering curriculum, giving input on advances in technology and processes that inform programs on meeting current and future industry needs and to be an ongoing resource for the engineering programs.

Among recent initiatives are Board member interviews with students, review of senior design projects and participation in the student mentoring program. 

Membership in the External Advisory Board has been expanded in the past two years to represent a more comprehensive group of constituencies to better address the needs of the students.

External Advisory Board Members

Anita Hall
General Mills (retired) - Chair
Wasim Akram
Trane Technologies
Lauren (Bearrood) Thurner
Corre, Inc.
Ronald Bennett
Founding Dean of the School of Engineering and Professor Emeritus, University of St. Thomas
William Betten
Betten Systems Solutions LLC
Anna Buelt
Broderick Carlin
Matt Christensen
Matthew Deutsch
Robert Dummer
Vascular Solutions
Joe Daniski
Graco Inc
Ashleigh Farrell
OpSens Inc.
Troy Fox
Andersen Corp
Sara Frisco
Northrup Grumman
Justin Gese
Tanya Gytri
Alliant Engineering
Ken Holte
SRF Consulting
Bob Janssen
Braun Intertec
Andrew Johnson
Boston Scientific
Ed Jones
Professor Emeritus - University of Iowa
Bill Lambrecht
Infinity Robotics
Julie Long
City of Bloomington
Ben Louwagie
Paul Mazanec
Avivomed, Inc
Ian McHattie
Xcel Energy
Matt Metzger
Barr Engineering
Kimberly Miller
Peter Ness

Brianna Nieson Wheeler

Tom Parker
Michael Peterson
Collins Aerospace
Brian Petschel
Control Concepts
Keith Rapp
Pinnacle Engineering
Gabriel Rodriguez
Daikin Applied Americas
Dulana Rupanetti
Design Ready Controls
Eric Ryan
Opus Group
Ted Schoenecker

Gene Sieve
Burns & McDonnell

Annie Thompson
Lam-Mien Tran
General Dynamics
Chloe Weber
Bolton & Menk, Inc
Mike Williamson
Open Systems International